The Cambria County Commissioners voted unanimously in June 1993 to become the local sponsors for Cambria County Area Community College (CCACC). In September 1993 the State Board of Education approved the establishment of a community college in Cambria County.

In October 1993, the Commissioners approved the appointment of a 15 member Board of Trustees representing the geographic service area of the institution and including leading members of the professional community. The Board of Trustees was inducted and held its initial meeting October 26, 1993.

By March 1994, the County Commissioners approved the Articles of Agreement with Cambria County Area Community College and a month later the Board of Trustees appointed Dr. John O. Hunter as founding President effective June 1, 1994. The first classes were held September 5, 1994. The College was approved as a candidate for accreditation by the Commission on Higher Education, Middle States Association in November 1996. In 1999 Dr. Hunter retired. The Board of Trustees appointed Dr. Kathleen V. Davis as the second President of the College effective July 1, 1999. Under Dr. Davis’ leadership the College began the accreditation process by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools.

Dr. Davis resigned as President in December 2001. In February 2002, the Board of Trustees appointed Dr. John Kingsmore as Interim President and the College began the search for its third President. In June of the same year the College received notification that full accreditation from the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools had been granted. On July 8, 2002, Dr. Anna D. Weitz began her tenure as the third President of Cambria County Area Community College.

During its first ten years of operation the College expanded its academic offerings in liberal arts and career programs to include on-line courses and advanced technology offerings. In addition to providing area residents with credit courses, the College had increased non-credit, continuing education programs to meet the workforce development needs of the region. The vision of President Dr. Anna Weitz was to grow enrollment and expand outreach of the College to surrounding counties that are underserved or not served by a community college. In order to achieve this goal, the College petitioned the Department of Education to change the name of CCACC to reflect a more regional approach. The College’s name was officially changed to Pennsylvania Highlands Community College effective July 1, 2004.

In May of 2007, Dr. Weitz pursued another employment opportunity and on August 13, 2007, the Board of Trustees appointed Dr. Walter Asonevich as the College’s fourth President.

In January of 2008, the College moved the main campus to its current location on Community College Way in Richland. Under Dr. Asonevich’s leadership, program offerings were revamped at the Ebensburg location, and additional Centers have been added in Somerset, Huntingdon, and Blair Counties, expanding the College’s reach in the Southern Alleghenies. The College added new career-technical programs in welding, radiology technology, computer science, pre-engineering, environmental science and histotechnology, and also offers a pilot training program. Penn Highlands offers complete programs through our Online Campus. The College has also become an excellent way to reduce student loan debt as its liberal arts offerings easily provide for the first two years of a bachelor’s degree while costing much less than public and private university tuition and fees. And, with statewide agreements with the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (PASSHE) universities, an agreement with the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown, and several other agreements with regional private and public colleges, the ability to use Penn Highlands credits toward completion of a 4-year degree has become highly effective and efficient.

Our high school dual enrollment program, Accelerated College Education, is accredited by the National Alliance of Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships and serves as many as 1,600 students each year in more than 50 school districts. Our Associate in the High School program has seen more than 40 graduates since the program’s inception in 2011. Penn Highlands’ dual enrollment students have been able to transfer tens of thousands of college credits earned in high school toward earning college degrees at institutions as prestigious as Penn State University, Duquesne University, the University of Pittsburgh, and many more.

The College’s NJCAA athletics program continues to grow with men’s basketball, women’s volleyball, cross country, and bowling.

The Board of Trustees appointed Dr. Steven C. Nunez as the fifth President of the College effective January 6, 2020.

Our Presidents

  • 1st President

    1st President

    Dr. John O. Hunter
    (1994 – 1999)

  • 2nd President

    2nd President

    Dr. Kathleen V. Davis
    (1999 – 2001)

  • 3rd President

    3rd President

    Dr. Anna D. Weitz
    (2002 – 2007)

  • 4th President

    4th President

    Dr. Walter J. Asonevich
    (2007 – 2019)

  • 5th President

    5th President

    Dr. Steven C. Nunez
    (2020 – )