• Secret City: College Play Created By Theater & X-Files Clubs

    Posted April 17, 2019 at 10:34 am

    Pennsylvania Highlands Community College will be having its first-ever stage production on Tuesday, April 30th, with additional performances to be shown on Thursday, May 2nd, in the Richland Campus Auditorium. The stage production, Secret City, is being presented by the college’s Theater & X-Files Clubs, and will take audiences on a riveting murder mystery experience.

    By the end of the 40-minute production viewers will be dying to know: Who killed Lindsay Hampton? It was written by Bret Sarlouis, and will be co-directed by Hailey Giuffre and Ryan Stout.

    Play Dates & Times:

    There is a suggested donation of $5 (suggested donation for students is $3).

    Note: There will be a 15-minute intermission.

  • Seminar To Be Held On Making College Affordable At Central Park Center

    Posted April 16, 2019 at 3:37 pm

    Pennsylvania Highlands Community College, in partnership with area school districts, will be hosting a seminar on Making College Affordable for area families and students. This seminar will take place on Thursday, April 25, beginning at 6pm. It will be held at the Penn Highlands Central Park Center located at 425 Main Street in downtown Johnstown, PA 15901.

    In collaboration with Greater Johnstown, Ferndale Area, and Conemaugh Valley school districts, the presentation will focus on what students need to know when planning their future after high school. Topics will include:

    • college in high school opportunities,
    • articulation and transfer information,
    • scholarships and financial aid opportunities,
    • choosing the right degree and the right college, and
    • planning ahead to graduate on time.

    Students are encouraged to attend with their parent or guardian. Light refreshments will be provided along with the Penn Highlands prize wheel. For additional details, visit us online at or contact our offices at 814.262.6400.

  • State Police To Present At Annual Criminal Justice Seminar

    Posted April 12, 2019 at 9:28 am

    Pennsylvania Highlands Community College will be hosting its 7th Annual Criminal Justice Seminar on Tuesday, April 16th, from 2pm to 4pm. This seminar will take place in the Richland Campus Auditorium at 101 Community College Way. This year’s presenters will be the Pennsylvania State Police.

    This event is open to the public. Please contact Criminal Justice faculty members Dennis Miller or Dr. Robert Clark with any questions. They can be reached by phone at 814.262.6400, or email them directly at (Dennis Miller) or (Dr. Robert Clark).

  • Board of Trustees Announce Search For Fifth President

    Posted April 9, 2019 at 10:36 am

    The Pennsylvania Highlands Community College Board of Trustees is pleased to announce that it has begun the search for the next President of Pennsylvania Highlands Community College following Dr. Walter Asonevich’s announcement of his intent to retire in July 2020.

    President Dr. Walter J. Asonevich’s service to Pennsylvania Highlands has been exemplary and the Board has extended its appreciation for his leadership. Pennsylvania Highlands will be celebrating his service as his retirement date nears.

    The appointment of Pennsylvania Highlands’ next president will shape the college’s future for years to come and the Board of Trustees is fully committed to conducting an equitable, inclusive, and transparent national search.

    The Board of Trustees has selected the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) to assist Pennsylvania Highlands with the search process. ACCT’s assistance will include recruiting highly-competitive candidates, working with the Search Committee, and supporting the Board of Trustees. ACCT has conducted over 500 community college searches, bringing a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the process. ACCT’s mission is to strengthen community college governance through education and advocacy. Dr. Bradley Ebersole will serve as the ACCT Search Consultant.

    Public Forums

    An important step in the presidential search process is the development of a Presidential Profile. On Wednesday, April 24, our Richland Campus will host four public forums. The Richland Campus can be found at 101 Community College Way, Johnstown, PA 15904.

    The purpose of these sessions is to listen to your input, which will assist with the development of the Presidential Profile. The entire college community is invited and encouraged to participate in a wide-ranging discussion about the qualities, characteristics, and qualifications we are seeking in the next President, as well as the opportunities and challenges facing Pennsylvania Highlands in the years to come. Additionally, participants will have the opportunity to ask questions about the presidential search process.

    We want to invite and encourage everyone to attend one of the important one-hour open forums on Wednesday, April 24, 2019:

    Search Process Details

    Pennsylvania Highlands Community College will maintain a Presidential Search webpage, where you can find the Presidential Profile and all pertinent information regarding the search process (as it is all developed and finalized). All information will be up in the coming weeks, and it will include all aspects of the search for both the college community and the candidates. Progress reports and pertinent information will be posted on a regular basis to the webpage at

    Pennsylvania Highlands Community College looks forward to an extensive and inclusive search that will find an outstanding leader for not only the college, but the region.

  • Network With Employers At Annual Job & Internship Fair

    Posted March 27, 2019 at 3:29 pm

    The Pennsylvania Highlands Community College Annual Job and Internship Fair will be held on Wednesday, April 3rd, from 11am to 2pm. This job and internship fair will take place in the East Hills Recreation Gym, which is connected to the college’s Richland Campus at 101 Community College Way.

    This event is open to all Pennsylvania Highlands Community College students and alumni, plus any member of the community who holds or is pursuing an associate, bachelor’s, or master’s degree. Individuals looking for jobs will have the opportunity to network with a variety of local and regional employers from a variety of industries.

    For additional information, please contact the Career Services Center at 814.262.3850 or