Contact Us Apply


Foundation Awards Over $29,000 In Academic Scholarships

Posted September 29, 2022 at 12:44 pm

The Pennsylvania Highlands Community College Foundation is proud to announce the distribution of more than $29,000 in scholarship money to Penn Highlands’ students for the 2022-2023 academic year. These scholarships are funded by local businesses, area philanthropists, Pennsylvania Highlands staff and faculty, and Foundation fundraisers.

“These scholarships are an essential part of a student’s educational journey,” stated Jeffrey Wood, President, Foundation Board of Directors. “We are proud to maintain a robust offering of scholarship monies from generous donors across our service area.”

Congratulations to the 2022-2023 Foundation Scholarship Award Recipients:

  • American Association of University Women (AAUW), Johnstown Branch Scholarship: Emma Martz (Berlin)
  • College Employee Supported Scholarship: Emma Martz (Berlin)
  • Griffith Family Scholarship: Christina Sparks (Saxton)
  • Dr. Edward Haluska Scholarship: Megan Ott (Windber)
  • Daniel and Diane Holtzman Scholarship: Preston Novak (Patton)
  • Kathy Holtzman Memorial Scholarship: Brenna Packard (Patton)
  • Huntingdon Hope Scholarship: Corrine Mowrer (Petersburg)
  • Johnstown Regional Indian Subcontinent Association (JRISA) Scholarship: Preston Novak (Patton)
  • Joseph and Joan Mangarella Scholarship: Megan Ott (Windber) and Mentalla Barakat (Johnstown)
  • Dale W. Miller Scholarship: Corinne Mowrer (Petersburg)
  • National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors (NAIFA) Scholarship: Megan Ott (Windber) and Brenna Packard (Patton)
  • Ursula Pawlowski Memorial Scholarship: Brenna Packard (Patton)
  • Roth Family Scholarship: Taylor Rickabaugh (Altoona), Mackenzie Shuke (Altoona), Monia Ahmed (Altoona), and Natalie Boose (Altoona)
  • Spruce Street Animal Hospital Scholarship: Abigail Aurand (Shirleysburg), Christina Sparks (Saxton), Corrine Mowrer (Petersburg), Claire Fisher (Spruce Creek), Spencer Hoover (Alexandria)
  • Supporting Success Scholarship: Hannah Tallion (Windber), Megan Ott (Windber), Preston Novak (Patton), and Brenna Packard (Patton)
  • Valenty Scholarship: Megan Ott (Windber)
  • Anna D. Weitz Scholarship: Megan Ott (Windber)
  • Stan and Helen Westbrook Scholarship: Abigail Aurand (Shirleysburg)